features

Angel of Fatherless Daughters

It’s Autumn 2016 and as I take a look at my surroundings, I see nothing but promotion of positivity, breakthroughs, tragedies turning into triumphs and ambitious women amongst it all of course! I am truly honored to introduce you to Angel Brown, author of the breakthrough book Fatherless Daughter. Fatherless Daughter’, a different perspective is set to launch November, 20, 2016 at her book launch event, which will be held at Pages Bookshop in Detroit, MI. She also has additional book signings following the launch event which you can find more info about by visiting her website amorelbrown.com. Meanwhile, we’re going to get to know Angel a bit more through this interview that she generously gave to the Ambitious Mix Blog.

AM: Angel, if you could start by telling us a little about yourself 

Angel Brown:  I am 28 (soon to be 29 on 11/20 the same day as my book launch ) image1-2and from Detroit,MI. I attended and graduated from Detroit Public Schools, went on to receive my bachelor’s from Eastern Michigan University and my Master’s from Devry University. As a professional, I am a Market Development Manager for Coca-Cola, which is in territory sales. Working at Coca-Cola, I can honestly say I enjoy what I do because it has influenced growth both personally and professionally. I have had the opportunity to meet some pretty amazing people.

Outside of Coca-Cola, I am the founder and president of E.L.I.T.E. Women, co-adviser of the NAACP Youth Council and Young Adult Committee Member here in Detroit, co-creator of Real Meal Grill Detroit and author of Fatherless Daughter: A Different Perspective. I am a daughter, a sister, a friend, an encourager, service leader and God-fearing Queen.

AM: You are involved in a plethora of things. Tell us more about your life outside of Coca-Cola.

Angel Brown: E.L.I.T.E. Women was founded in June of 2013 and is a group of great women doing great things. I wanted to start an organization where women of all ages, of all walks of life, come together and do great things together and also have fun together. From what I have seen, a lot of organizations in Detroit that cater to women are somewhat “cliquish”, and I wanted to change that. I did not want anyone to feel alienated…I just wanted us to come together and enjoy what we do for our communities and each other. I have had members/affiliates anywhere from the age of 18 to age 61.

We have hosted several community events, collaborated with other women organizations and mentored over a total of 5000 hours within the last three years. We’ve mentored with Vista Maria, The Genesis House III, and currently, The NSO. My passion was literally developed overnight. God spoke to me and told me to text every woman in my phone and tell her that I was starting an organization. I knew and HE knew that once I texted everyone, I had to go ahead with the plan of creating E.L.I.T.E. because now people knew about it.

As for the  NAACP, I actually met up with them through Coca-Cola. I was invited to attend several events due to Coca-Cola’s relationship with the NAACP and I developed a relationship of my own. I found out that they had a Youth Council (I love kids…well teenagers..lol) and I needed to know how I could get involved. I became a member of the NAACP and soon after became Co-Adviser.

Real Meal Grill Detroit is something that I and another young lady (who has an organization) created because we both had a dire need to give back to our city in some way and influence others to do the same. The mission is as follows:

Real Meal Grill Detroit (RMGD) is a mission-based celebration created in partnership by E.L.I.T.E Women and Toast2U to benefit Detroiters facing homelessness.

While REAL MEAL GRILL DETROIT nourishes the bodies and souls of our homeless community. It also provides resources to aid these individuals and families in their journey to stability. It is our hope that everyone who receives a meal at RMGD is one step closer to independence.

 

Fatherless Daughter: ADP came about because…well…first,I am a Fatherless Daughter but also many of the young girls and women I have mentored with E.L.I.T.E. Women are fatherless, motherless, or parent-less. Because of their situation, they sometimes lose hope. While I know mentoring helps some, I wanted to create something that was tangible and can be referenced that could aid in hope, love, forgiveness and healing. FDADP is a book project where I not only tell my story, but the stories of other women who were or are fatherless, how they overcame it and their successes.

AM: So…what are your plans going forward?

Angel Brown: My plans going forward…hmmm… Well, I do plan to write another book. I realize that I like hearing other peoples stories, so the format will most likely be the same as FDADP. I would like to complete my PhD program. I would also like to expand E.L.I.T.E. Women and my role with the NAACP. Lastly, I want to help people to think different and be better. I will do this by ultimately becoming a Certified Life Coach and continuing to encourage and inspire others daily. I believe that if you master controlling your thoughts, you will change the way you think which will change your life.

AM: What does Women Empowerment mean to you?

Angel Brown: Women Empowerment to me, means to provide inspiration to women that will encourage them to be better…that will encourage change…that will encourage educating themselves.

AM: What are your goals for the next five years?

Angel Brown: In 5 years, I see myself not only being a “self-proclaimed” service leader but everyone will recognize me as such. I think that it is so important to give back and pour into people who are just like you and or came from where you came from. I would like to be a Professional Spiritual Motivational Speaker. I believe that in order to find your gift, you have to connect with the spiritual side of yourself and you two will become one in the same.

AM: Name something you’ve always wanted to do. It can be business related or non-business related.

Angel Brown: Something I’ve always wanted to do….Skydive 😊

 

If you’re interested in meeting Angel, do not hesitate to buy a ticket to her upcoming event on November, 20. Tickets be can purchased at Fatherless Daughter ADP Book Launch Tickets

Until next time,

 

Stay Ambitious, Stay Motivated! 

Leave a comment